Understanding Love Languages and what they mean for your relationship – Part 2

Love Languages 


love language image

If you’ve ever been on the receiving end of a very thoughtful gift or felt loved by the little things your partner did for you, then you know that those small expressions of love can go a long way. But what do they actually mean? And why are they so important?

According to Dr. Gary Chapman and several other relationship experts, there are five primary ways people express and feel love: physical touch, acts of service, affirmation, gifts and quality time. You may have noticed that most social media posts include at least one of these things—the image itself serves as an affirmation; liking it is a form of physical touch; commenting on it is an act of service; sharing it with others is giving gifts; reading someone else’s post about something similar gives us quality time and sometimes even more. So how does this apply to your relationship with your significant other?

Receiving Gifts

Gifts are a great way to show someone that you care. Whether it’s a birthday, Christmas, or anniversary, giving meaningful gifts will make the recipient feel special. The most important thing to remember is that giving someone a gift should be done with thought and consideration. You want your gift giver to know that he or she is appreciated, so select items based on their interests and tastes—and always try not to spend too much money! Here are some examples of inexpensive gifts:

  • A book they would like (that doesn’t take weeks of research)
  • Tickets for an escape room adventure together
  • A magazine subscription

Quality Time

Quality time, the fifth love language, is all about focusing on each other. You should be doing things together or just spending time with your spouse. The quality of your time together should be important to both of you. Some activities will be more meaningful than others—for instance, if one person has always wanted to learn a new skill and the other one has never tried anything like that before but wants to support their partner’s interests and happiness, then this can be a great way for them to spend quality time together as well as grow closer over time through shared experiences.

But even activities that aren’t particularly meaningful in themselves can still count as quality time when paired with conversation: being able to talk about your day or thoughts about something going on in your lives together is what makes those hours truly count as “quality.” This is especially true if you like talking with each other!

Learn how to understand your and your loved one’s love languages

The five love languages are:

  • Words of affirmation
  • Acts of service
  • Receiving gifts
  • Quality time, and
  • Physical touch.

To find out what your primary love language is, ask yourself the following questions:

  • Do you express your love by doing nice things for people or through verbal affirmation?
  • Do you feel most appreciated when someone gives you a gift or takes you out to dinner?
  • Are compliments important to you or do thoughtful acts make your heart melt?
  • Do you need alone time with your significant other to feel connected, or do they need to spend every waking moment together to experience that connection?
  • Do physical touches—like holding hands and cuddling—make them feel loved, or do they prefer light caresses on the arm while watching TV together at night (or both)?

Your answers will help determine which language holds meaning for you personally.

These are just a few of the many ways you can express love to your partner. You may have other ways of showing affection, or your partner might prefer something else entirely. It’s important to understand what makes them feel loved, and then use that knowledge to show them how much they mean to you!

I hope this article has been helpful to you. If you missed part 1, make sure you check it out and learn about the other love languages. We know relationship are tricky and the solutions not alway clear. If you would like a little help navigating yours, Book your complimentary Breakthrough Session Now, Life Awakening Coach would love to help!

Love Languages Infographic

Relationship are difficult to navigate and you don’t have to do it alone, we can help!


loving couple

Join our Meetup Group for Monthly Webinars

Life Awakening Coach - Meetup Free Webinar

Save your Marriage & Relationship in 2 Days!

The Gottman Workshop

Follow us on Instagram